Review: The Art of Roughhousing

30 11 2011

Initial thoughts: We were sent The Art of Roughhousing shortly after Kate was born and after an initial flick through I am afraid to say that it got put to one side and forgotten about. Then a couple weeks ago it was a rainy day and it caught my eye on the bookshelf so I had a quick browse and found myself really interested.

I liked: I was really interested in the first chapter which goes through the benefits of roughhousing. I know that it is just playing at the end of the day but it gave me the confidence to try some things that I might not have been confident enough to try otherwise. It also gave me some ideas to amuse a toddler on a rainy day.

I didn’t like: My own limitations! I don’t have a strong back and I have to be very careful with what I do. Mr C is the same and so a lot of the lifting type activities weren’t good for us. Also, there are not many suggestions for younger children and so we are limited by what we can get from this book at the moment. As the children get older I am sure that will change.

Overall: I think that this book is great for confidence building and for ideas and suggestions of games and things to do. The chapter on getting started with instant roughhousing was the best part for us in the beginning. I think this would make a nice stocking filler for a Dad (or Mum).

Further information: The Art of Roughhousing is available on Amazon for £8.99

Disclaimer: We were sent a copy of The Art of Roughhousing free of charge for the purpose of this review.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

