Review: Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

8 01 2011

I used to read a lot. I consumed books, more than one a week. I was never seen without a book. I can walk and read at the same time. Reading was my ‘thing’.

A couple of things changed my reading habits. Having a baby was one of them, the other was my new found love of Twitter and reading other people’s blogs.

So when I was contacted and asked whether I would like to take a little time for me and get sent a book and some chocolate I took this as a sign that it was time to read a book again!

The lovely people at Galaxy sent me Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger, and three delicious bars of chocolate. The chocolate actually outlasted the book which was strange. Last night I managed to eat an entire big bar of Galaxy in one sitting so obviously that was a one off!

Anyway, on to the book. I was keen to read this book as I absolutely and completely love her other book, The Time Traveler’s Wife. That was the first book ever that I made myself slow down and read a bit at a time because I loved it so much and did not want it to end. It is in my top 10 books I have ever read so I had high hopes for this book.

Sadly, I did not enjoy this as much. I did enjoy parts of the book, but it was up and down. I found it hard to get into at the beginning, then was hooked, then as the tale took a dark twist I didn’t like it at all. I made myself finish the book but the story made me uneasy and I cannot say that I enjoyed it.

The book is very well written though with interesting characters. I think that one of the things that makes her books readable is that everyone in the book is developed whether they are central to the story or the supporting characters. I loved the descriptions of Highgate Cemetery which are rich and wonderful and have made me want to visit. 

If you like ghost stories then I think you will like this book. I am not a huge fan and that is definitely the reason I didn’t enjoy the book that much. I did however enjoy the chocolate which was very tasty indeed. Check out the Galaxy facebook page for further book related information, competitions and interviews.

Disclaimer: I was provided with a copy of the book and three lovely bars of chocolate free of charge for the purpose of this review.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

