#reverb10: Day 7

7 12 2010

My seventh post for reverb10

Community.
Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Oh this has to be Twitter. I have always felt a sense of community with blogging but it is just so much more with Twitter. It is so quick and simple and easy to connect with people. There is always a friend with kind words of support when you need it. People reach out to me and it takes away the loneliness of long sleepless nights and days with a baby. I couldn’t have coped with night feeds without Twitter. I would not be as confident a mum without it either. There is always someone there to help or advise or to share their thoughts and experiences. There is always someone there to laugh at something I have found funny that day. You are all there when I want to show off my little boy. I was overwhelmed by the response I got when I told everyone that I was pregnant again.

And the best part is all of that connecting in 140 characters or less has developed into real, true friendships. I can follow one of my friends as she travels round the world with her family. Others I will get to hug tomorrow as we meet up for lunch. Our babies play together, grow together and we share the highs and lows of life together. I cosider myself to have many more friends than I ever did before Twitter.

I know a lot of people don’t ‘get’ it and that is fine. I get it and I love it.

(I am @Kellyfairy on Twitter and have a policy of following back anyone who connects with me so come and follow and chat. I would love to meet you. If I know you and follow you already, well you guys are the best).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

