The Gallery: Emotions

30 06 2010

This week two of my favourite things in the blog world have joined forces to save the earth make their respective weekly treats even more fabulous. So words and pictures all in one this week. The prompt is Emotions.

Pride

I see the concentration in your face as you look so intently at something trying to work it out. At home with your toys, or out in the pushchair trying to see something that is going on and to understand it. My mum had these Mega Bloks at her house and I saw you pick them up for the first time and just watch us and work it out and start putting them together. That look in your eyes makes my heart fill with pride like a balloon, until it completely fills my chest.

All of a sudden you are able to do things for yourself. Drinking from your own sippy cup. Feeding yourself happily with a “num-num” and a smile. Crawling. Sitting up in your cot, looking at me with those eyes in the morning. Every day you do or learn something new, and I am so very proud of you.

I think that you are extraordinary. Perhaps it is a first child thing, I had no idea what it would be like to watch you grow and change and learn. You can do things that I didn’t expect you to be able to do, and it amazes me every day. I can talk about you all day long, and bore everyone senseless but I don’t care because to me you are the most wonderful baby in the world. Remember always that I love you, and that I will always be proud of you and every thing you achieve in life.

I am proud of your dad for being there, for being my rock, for the way he is with you. We are the luckiest people alive to have him in our life.

One thing I didn’t expect was how proud I would be of myself. For growing you, giving birth, finding the strength to get through the hard times, the trying times, the sleep deprivation, the questioning every thing you do, every decision I make about you. I am proud that I have learnt to step back, take a deep breath and relax. I am proud that I have learnt to trust my instinct, to know that I do know what is good for you, what is best for you, what you need. I am proud that I get to spend time with you, to teach you, to watch you grow. This is the best adventure of my life.

I’m afraid that when you do things that make me proud, it makes me cry. I apologise for the amount of tears now. I will always be an embarrassment. That is what mums are for.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

