My hopes for 2010

2 01 2010

Taking care of me – in the past few months as I have adjusted to life with my little man I have not spent any real time thinking about me. So, I will make a bit more effort where I can to look nice, brush my hair (even get it cut!) and take some me time where I can. I will try and eat better and find a way of exercising that doesn’t seem like I am being punished.

Feeding my family – I want to eat better, because the past few months of adapting to life where my main task is to look after a small person has meant too many meals of biscuits at 3pm because I didn’t manage to get lunch. I want to be more organised, I want to reduce the amount of food that we throw away and I want to build on my current repertoire of recipes. I plan on cooking one new recipe a week. Also, Piran will be six months old in a few weeks and our weaning journey will begin. I plan on trying to go the BLW route. I hope that it will help me eat better as well.

Resolve my work dilemmas – I am not due back to work until the start of June but there are questions surrounding it that I need to find the answers to. Unfortunately for my brain I cannot really blog about it right now. I am sure all will be resolved. But ugh, isn’t it complicated?

Find my place in the world – links with the above. I need to find out what makes me happy and take the steps to fill my life with those things so I can find contentment that equals the contentment I feel with my family. I have the husband and the baby but those have been my goals for so long I guess I want to answer the question what now?

Blogging – love blogging, going to keep doing it. May treat myself to a proper blog design, who knows. The only thing I am going to do is stop worrying about whether I post too much or too little, whether I am interesting or not. I need to revel in how it makes me feel.

Date night – Mr C & I have decided we will make the effort to get a babysitter so we can go out once a month for a meal or to the cinema.

I am really looking forward to this year, I think it is going to be Great.

Actions

Information

11 responses

2 01 2010
Coding Mamma (Tasha)

Sounds good.BLW is great. We did it with Rosemary and will do it again with Eleanor. Date night sounds like a good idea. Not sure how we can find the time for it, but would like to.

2 01 2010
The Dotterel

If you do manage to find a form of exercise that doesn't seem like punishment, will you let me know? Thanks. And have a great 2010!

2 01 2010
Muddling Along Mummy

Those sound like great aims – enjoy BLW, unlike the puree route it means lots of fun around food and so much more flexibility around where you go and what you do (although try and avoid tomato pasta sauces anywhere with people wearing white …)

2 01 2010
TheMadHouse

Sounds like cool things to do. We sorta BLW with MiniMad as he wasnt weened until post six months. Good luck for 2010

3 01 2010
Pippa

Sounds like some great ideas for 2010, but when I do date night it doesn't have to be out the house, just off the PC!

3 01 2010
More than Just a Mother

These are really good resolutions, and mirror some of mine. I've definitely lost sight of a few things this year and need to get my priorities back.

3 01 2010
make do mum

I'm with you on taking better care of myself (there's definitely been too many packets of crisps and biccies instead of lunch). Hope you have a great 2010! xx

3 01 2010
SnafflesMummy

Sound like realistic goals. All the best for 2010 and I hope you enjoy your date nights. There are a definate must once you have kids.

3 01 2010
NorthWestLondonGirlInTheCountry

I love the sound of date night, I will suggest it to HH as a regular thing. You sound that you have adjusted really well to being a mummy and you are perfectly entitled to take a little time for yourself – good girl. Happy New Year xx

4 01 2010
Sandy Calico

These are great hopes. Re lunch, I used to make a sandwich first thing in the morning and stick it in the fridge. Sometimes I would eat it at 11, then have the biccies at 3, but nobody's perfect! We do date nights. We stay in once a week, have a nice meal or a takeaway, bottle of wine, no computers! We try to get a babysitter once a month and go out. Unfortunately we've been let down the last 3 times – we really need a night out!Happy 2010 x

6 01 2010
Metropolitan Mum

Great list. I need to tackle all of these points, too. Especially the place in this world 'issue'.

Leave a Reply

