Red shoes

28 11 2009


If you click on the picture it will take you to Josie’s fantastic blog, Sleep is for the Weak. This week is week 6 of the Writing Workshop. This is my submission this week, I have chosen the prompt which was to write about shoes that sum up your personality. I am tired and I do not have much energy left but am happy to be able to write without worrying about questions from my parents! So, I give you my shoes:


I am not a high heels kind of girl. I am flat comfortable shoes kind of girl. I have had so many pairs of shoes and trainers and boots in my life but this pair has lasted the longest by far. I bought these on a whim four years ago and I have worn them almost every day.

In their glory I got many nice comments. They had a rainbow stripe which made me smile. They were red. They were suede. They fit my feet like a glove. They were unusual. They were me.

But, in the time I have worn them they have seen me get together with Paul, move house a couple of times. I wore them when he met my parents and I met his. I wore them when I got engaged, I wore them in the morning of my wedding day. They were surplus to requirements at the end of my pregnancy when my feet turned into pasty shaped boats but I celebrated when I could get my feet back in them. They have been on my feet as I run around after my son.

Now however, I have to admit. They are worn and tired and run down. They have a split on the sole that is letting in water. They are scuffed and faded. I should have replaced them two years ago but couldn’t find anything that I even vaguely liked.

Three weeks ago I admitted defeat and picked a new pair. They are red. They have a little bit of suede. They are relatively comfortable. I am not sold on them yet, and I am not throwing my old pair away.


Perhaps one day I will feel that they suit my personality as well as the old ones.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 11 2009
TheMadHouse

I love red shoes!!! I have a pair of those Red ones but their didnt have the rainbow stripes just white ones. I have far too many pairs and mine are still OK, what size are you?I also like the new ones too

29 11 2009
make do mum

I'm with you on this one. I reluctantly chucked a pair of trainers I'd had for 10 years that were falling apart.I love that you wore your trainers on your wedding day (not tempted to have them on under the dress then?!)

29 11 2009
Kelly

TheMadHouse: I am a size 5. I am getting to like the new ones more, it is just they are too new if you know what I mean!Make Do Mum: If they would have let me get away with wearing my trainers I would have done! Unfortunately my Mum and the bridesmaids were having none of it!

29 11 2009
Lorraine

I am a real trainers and comfy shoes kind of girl too Kelly. I loved my gold wedding shoes but I would have quite happily worn my trainers. Hope the new ones get to be as comfy as the old.

Leave a Reply

