Make it Monday: Soft Christmas Trees

9 11 2009

Oh, it is here already! Thrifty Christmas! Do go and visit Violet Posy and see the brilliant ideas.

A few weeks ago I found this website that had a pattern for these soft trees. I love the internet. I thought that this would be a good idea for Christmas so this weekend I set to making some. The first one I made was the black and red spotty one and then I tried with green fleece and they were just perfect little Christmas trees. The fleece is a blanket from Ikea that cost about £3 and I could have got at least 50 of these trees out of the one blanket. The beads I used were from a jar full that used to be my Grandma’s.

If I get chance I am going to try some with ribbon sewn on and buttons as well. Also, if I can find a photocopier I am going to enlarge and reduce the pattern so that I can have trees of different sizes. The three green decorated ones are going to my Mum as a present to say thanks for letting us stay for the rest of the month!




Also, I am thinking that with a different colour fabric and a bit of embellishment (including a tail) this could be a mouse!

Edited to add (2011): The link to the template doesn’t work anymore! Leave me a comment or email me via my profile or contact me page and I will email you a pdf template.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 11 2009
make do mum

These are lovely, I should really make some time to do some crafty stuff.Thanks for the tip about Aptamil, K has been fine on it :)Have fun in Cornwall x

9 11 2009
TheMadHouse

They are fantastic, they eould make a really nice collection in different sizes. If I have time I may have a go myself!!

9 11 2009
gaelikaa

Lovely! Very good! And how's the toothache?

Leave a Reply

