Make it Monday: Christmas Tree Decorations

2 11 2009

This week I have been making Christmas Tree decorations. I saw something similar in the shops (I know, already!) and I thought I would have a go at making them myself. The felt cost me 90p a sheet and I can get 6 decorations from a sheet so definitely one on the Thrifty side! The buttons and thread I already had.

First I made a template of a Christmas Tree from a cereal packet.

Then I cut two of the tree shapes from the felt:


I embroidered a pattern on each piece, and on the top of one I added a ribbon loop (this ribbon came from a top – they are the ribbons that are sewn in to help them stay on hangers!)

Then I put the two wrong sides together and then blanket stitch all round the outside (this is so annoying but I cannot get the picture the right way up). This was my first one. My sewing is a bit pants!


I have made 5 so far. Some with hand sewing, some using the machine. I used buttons as the tree topper for some of them.

Actions

Information

9 responses

2 11 2009
TheMadHouse

Love em, great minds think alike. We are going to do felt decorations to!!

2 11 2009
The Dotterel

Groovy. I might even have a go myself!

2 11 2009
april

oooh – i was wondering what to do for christmas pressies this year – bingo – children can make them too :)- Glee!

2 11 2009
Lorraine

They look fab and you have inspired me to try something similar with Smurf…without the sewing…not sure he is quite ready for that.Bet they will look great on the tree.

3 11 2009
Emma Louise

They look fab! Last time I attempted to make homemade decorations , I nearly set my mother's tree on fire! Paper doesn't go well with hot lights! hehe..

8 11 2009
Liz@Violet Posy

They look gorgeous and such a simple thing to do. I'll be making some of these with Lily. Thanks so much for sharing them x

9 11 2009
SnafflesMummy

wow these look fab. another project to add to my "to do list"

10 11 2009
Laura @ the shorehouse.

I love these!! I learned to blanket stitch this summer and I need a reason to use it. 🙂

13 11 2009
ALMOST MRS AVERAGE

Love these, truly gorgeous 😀

Leave a Reply

