Snuggle central

20 10 2009


If you click on the picture it will take you to Josie’s fantastic blog, Sleep is for the Weak. This week is week 2 of the Writing Workshop. This week there were so many great prompts to choose from that it took me a day to decide. Anyway, I finally did and here is my post. I had no plan and just starting writing, I am happier with some parts than others but all in all I like it:

Under my bed there is the following:
A washing up bowl
A bolster style pillow
A v shaped pillow
Some antibiotics
A hot water bottle in a fleecy cover
A box of tissues
A bag for life
A stack of Good Food magazines
A Rick Stein cookbook
Some other books that are too far under for me to reach

Half of that is the detritus of pregnancy, various shaped pillows that enclosed my body for a week or so at a time to be hastily cast aside when something else fit better or made me slightly more comfortable. I miss being able to do that, get everything just right and create a nest for me and my Squigler, settling in for dreams of new baby cuddles and finally becoming a mum. The washing up bowl was for the soaking of feet and later to deal with a sickness bug at 38 weeks that I hoped might have been the start of labour but was not to be (unless it lasted 4 weeks!). The hot water bottle that eased my aches and pains, backache being the worst.

Actually, looking around this room that I spent so long making just so for me and my new husband, it has all completely changed since I fell pregnant and subsequently had a baby. The bed itself was replaced by this wonderful king sized bed which held all our hopes and dreams of family cuddles and lie ins at weekends. When I was pregnant it still did not seem big enough but now at times I find that the two of us are spooned together and only using half of the bed. I suspect this will come in handy if a wriggly toddler decides he would rather be sleeping with us. Piran and I play on the white soft spotty covers every morning, me typing as he learns to make new sounds and kick his legs just that little bit higher in the air.

Our bedroom has Green-Blue Farrow and Ball painted walls and big flower covered Laura Ashley curtains. I picked a spotty duvet cover so the colours match but the patterns are different and you know what, it worked so well. I was in coordinating heaven. Now I have a cot bejewelled with all of the primary colours and more – white hippos galloping on a red background, colourful stripes and wiggles and patterns of the sheets. A tiny love mobile all colours of the rainbow. A chair covered in teal and fabric with trees on that actually could go if there was just room!

This room has undergone the metamorphasis from the room we made that was our own little hideaway to one of a family and the squished up chaos makes me feel complete. I still have my little reminders – the wedding photo of us on the beach, our little cake topper people on the shelf above the bed, another wedding photo behind. On top of the wardrobe are two cheeky penguins. They are mine, not Piran’s. Trevor is big and round and fluffy. I have owned him for 15 years and in my very first home of my own had his own room at the bottom of the airing cupboard. I found Dave in a charity shop many years ago. He is hand knitted and wonky and just wonderful and has always travelled with me, even so far as Tenerife.

I have written this post in my pajamas’s cross legged on the bed as Piran plays and chatters next to me. I love these early mornings, just the two of us during the week and with the addition of the most important man in our lives at weekend. This is what I imagined when I thought of being a mum when I curled up in my nest all those months ago. I am filled with love and happiness.

Actions

Information

8 responses

21 10 2009
TheMadHouse

Sounds like a proper haven

21 10 2009
miss leslieanne

Aaah, sounds perfect :)(and very familiar! – i love early morning snuggles 🙂

21 10 2009
april

how absolutely wonderful 🙂

21 10 2009
Cafe Bebe

Such a lovely room…and obviously Piran is quite happy as evident by the size of his yawn! ;)Lovely post…Karin

21 10 2009
Josie @Sleep is for the Weak

Oh how lovely Kelly! That sounds like a room chock full of love if ever I heard it.And I LOVE Piran's big yawny face!Thanks so much x

21 10 2009
Erin

Your snuggle central sounds wonderful and reminds me of the days when Nicholas was that little. . . =)

21 10 2009
alybean

I miss those days with my first baby.Cherish it.

24 10 2009
Sandy Calico

What a lovely post and a great photo of Piran! x

Leave a Reply

