The Name Game

5 10 2009

I have been tagged by Tasha who is waiting for the birth of her baby, and thought that she could do with something good to read so I would do this now, as requested!

So, this is what it is all about, from Mommy Words: Names are important. Your kids’ names were chosen for a particular reason and they mean a lot to you so this would be a great story to share! If you don’t share your kids’ names on your blog you can just tell us where you got the catchy nickname for your little ones or just go through 1-10 and amuse us with your naming antics! No problemo! Copy the image above to use on your blog. Go ahead and answer the questions and then pass this Name Game and the simple instructions on to 5 other bloggy moms or dads who you think might want to share their story! Make sure to let me know so I can follow the Name Game!

Do you have any cultural or religious naming traditions?
No. We were keen to have a family connection however so we did bear this in mind when choosing a name.

Did you or your partner come to the marriage with pre-selected names?
Mr C didn’t. Before we were married we talked about names for children. I have my girls name picked out, have done for years, although I had never decided if it would be her first or middle name. Luckily, Mr C likes it.

Did you consider the sound of the first and middle and last names together? Did this make any sad eliminations?
Definitely. My first name is Kelly and my maiden name was Smith. I spent all of my time growing up being called Smelly Whiff. So this was very important to me. We also spent a lot of time working out what you could shorten the names to. Richard was out because our last name is Cheesley and well, you don’t want to call your child Dick Cheesley do you?

Do you have veto powers?
Well, we both had to love the name, so I guess we did.

Did the baby naming cause arguments?
No

Do you think it is easier to name boys or girls?
Well we had the girl’s name picked out, so naming a boy was harder. I found naming a girl easier because, well shall we say I had more associations to boys names that were not appropriate to naming a child!

Did you eliminate names because of people from your past or present who you don’t like or because a certain image comes to mind.
Yes. Mr C was keen on Jacob or Jake and was trying to convince me until we had one funny conversation one day in the car when I had to admit to losing my virginity to someone called Jake! That changed his mind sharpish! There were others that were rejected for the same reason. Although, the name we ultimately picked is the middle name of the person I had my first serious relationship with. I don’t think I told Mr C that because I didn’t want him to reject it and besides, I don’t think about it at all. We also rejected some boys names for being too popular because I didn’t want people calling him by his surname all the time which is what happened to Mr C perhaps because his name was quite popular 36 years ago!

Did you / would you survey your children to get their thoughts on the name?
Next time perhaps, but this time we had no one to ask!

Did you tell people the name or possible names before the baby was born or were they “in the vault”?
No. Although we had picked a name we just told people that we had a shortlist. In the end I told one midwife when I was in hospital and we also told the midwife when I was in labour. Because we knew it was a boy the name was the only surprise that we would have for people on the day he was born. We got lots of nice comments about it.

Did you use baby name books?
Yes, we had one from the library, which was funny. I also used an application on my iPod which told you how popular names were as well. We would lay in bed and I would read out the names to Paul and put them in the iPod if they were a possible. We also played a game on long car journeys where we tried to think of all names beginning with A then B etc.

Drumroll Please… What did you name your kid(s) and why?

Piran Ernest Cheesley

Piran (pronounced Peer-en) is a Cornish name which was one of the reasons that we picked it. I wrote about it here, but basically we found out we were expecting a boy on St Piran’s day and the name was already on our list of possible names so it just seemed perfect. St Piran is the patron saint of Cornwall and tin miners and my family lives in Cornwall, I grew up there, we were married there and it is our favourite place to be when we can. So for us, it was perfect.

Ernest is a family name, both of our Mum’s Dads were called Ernest so that got us family brownie points and we both liked the name. It was important to us to have a family link.

I am meant to pass this on to 5 other bloggers but I am a bit stuck! I have come up with three!

Josie at Sleep is for the weak.
Sandy at Baby Baby
Emma at Me, The Man & The Baby

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 10 2009
Hot Cross Mum

An amazing name! It's always so tricky but such fun choosing the names. I was denied my first choice of Harry – boooo 🙂

6 10 2009
Coding Mamma (Tasha)

Thank you. I find names so fascinating, and Piran is a lovely name, with so much meaning for you.

20 10 2009
Caroline

I enjoyed reading this, very much!

Leave a Reply

