Jo Whiley – My World In Motion

29 06 2009


I was sent a copy of this book to review (my very first, how exciting!). I didn’t know whether it would have appealed to me in ‘real life’, I perhaps would have taken it out from the library if I saw it on the shelf but not bought a copy, so I was interested to read it.

The book is split into chapters – each representing a part of Jo or her life. So we have Sister, DJ, Festival Lover, Mother, Almost Famous, Music Junkie and finally Me. This format interested me to begin with, and shows how we are all made up of very different parts, however it did mean that the book is not chronological, and therefore at times can seem a little repetitive.

I will admit to being moved to tears within the first couple of pages, Jo’s description of her sister is obviously from the heart and struck a chord with me (pregnancy hormones anyone?) and I think that the parts of the book about her parents, sister, husband and children were actually the bits that I enjoyed the most in this book. Perhaps because these parts seemed less forced, and more real. She does deal with the subject of being a working mother and how this has affected her and how she managed it, although I dare say that being able to take your baby and nanny to work with you and breastfeed whilst working is not something that the average mother is ever going to be able to do!

As a Glastonbury fan myself I enjoyed her stories about the festival and her obviously close relationship with John Peel which began at this festival. Again, these parts felt more genuine than some of the other sections in the book and it bought back a lot of memories for me, as Jo is describing years at Glastonbury when I was there myself (at times huddled in a tent, unable to come out because of the torrential rain!).

There are a number of anecdotes in the book about famous people that she has met and I did feel that she portrayed most people with respect – I am sure that she could have actually told some stories that could make your toes curl. That said, it does give the book a slightly unrealistic air I felt, because not everyone can be as wonderful and nice as she says they are.

The book is interspersed with track lists of songs that remind her of certain times of her life which is interesting, however because of the way that the chapters are laid out this adds to the repetitive nature of the book and I will admit to getting fed up with the words “as I’ve described elsewhere”.

Overall, I enjoyed reading the book and would recommend it to friends that are Glastonbury festival lovers as I enjoyed reminiscing over my memories sparked by Jo’s.

The book is available in hardcover from Amazon

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free copy of this book for the purpose of this review. 

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 06 2009
SandyCalico

Great book review!

29 06 2009
Mrs OMG Pregnant

I concur! Great review.I am reading this now, thanks to BMB and the lovely lady at Virgin! ;0) I'll post my review soon xx

30 06 2009
New Mummy

Great review x

Leave a Reply

